On the last day where I feel safe in this country

“Why don’t you feel safe, elm?”

I’m a cisgender (I identify as the gender I was born) white (SO MUCH PRIVILEGE) woman, so I’ve had a lot of things go my way. None of those things are sarcastic. I’m cisgender, I’m white, I’m a woman. I didn’t mention my sexual orientation. We might talk about that in a later post, but I’ll address it briefly here.  I’ve dated a woman. I would do it again.  I’ve mostly dated men.

But why don’t I feel safe?

Because I’m a woman who has had her pussy grabbed (fucked, really) against her will. Because I’m a woman who believes that every man and woman, no matter his/her/their sexual orientation, deserves to feel safe. Because I’m a woman who believes every transgender person, every person with a disability, every person of color, every person who practices a religion other than Christianity, every PERSON for that matter, deserves to feel safe in this country.

And we’ve elected a man who will be sworn in as the 45th President of our United States who makes me feel unsafe. There were a lot of things I didn’t like about Former President George W. Bush, but I didn’t even so much as think for a second that he’d plunge us into World War III or just get us nuked off the map.  To be honest, I’m hoping for nukes if it gets that bad. I don’t know what I’d do with Torii and Ty if the world gets that bad.  If it even gets close, you’ll find me in Michigan with my parents.  I love Chicago, but I’d rather not be alone if the world is ending.

For those of you who think I’m being melodramatic?  Try living in my head for a minute.  This is nothing. My anxiety has been on overdrive since the election, and I’m not going to lie, I’ve been scrambling around these couple of months just so I don’t kill myself. Depression and anxiety combined with our current political climate don’t make for good bedfellows. I’ve been watching videos of both Bush Presidents, Clinton, and praying. I don’t usually pray, but now?  ANYWAY.

As a woman who feels that while, yes, he is the person who won the electoral college, he clearly did not win the popular vote. And for those of you who have hoped that he is impeached or worse? Our next Vice President, Mike Pence, would be next in line, and he is not a good alternative. I’ll happily send you links to articles about why he isn’t a good choice, but I’m not going into that here.

For those of you that voted for him? I’ve told most of you how I feel about this, and I’m pretty much done with you. Show me that you don’t agree with him. Your words aren’t enough at this point. This has gone too far. Betsy “the Grizzly” DeVos was too far. You didn’t speak up against her. Speak up. Speak out.

It’s not just about how it affects you. It’s about how this affects all of us, and if you’re not fighting for all of us? Ain’t nobody got time for that.

I spent the last eight years being alternately thrilled and pissed off at outgoing President  Barack Obama. But I never felt unsafe. I do feel unsafe now.  This isn’t up for debate. I feel unsafe. There’s nothing you can say to change that unless we can work a whole lot of magic.

Leave a Reply

